Polka dot dress refashion

It’s been almost a month since I’ve launched this blog and so far I’ve had over 100 visitors. That may not seem like a huge number, but I think it’s great. I appreciate all of you taking time out of your busy days to read my ramblings – thank you, thank you, thank you!

1-Blue-polka-dot-dress-before-diy-refashion
Not the most flattering cut, but adorable fabric – Don’t mind my awesome leggings underneath!

Last fall Zach and I were hunting for Halloween costumes I stumbled across a really cute blue polka dot patterned dress. Unfortunately when I tried it on it was very unflattering. It was too long, the neck line was too high, and there were shoulder pads. I figured it would be a straightforward refashion and at $10 it seemed like a steal.

2-blue-polka-dot-dress-diy-refashion
Chalked line for new neckline

I started by altering the neckline, it was too high. To create a new neckline I put on the dress and then put a t-shirt on over it. I then used the t-shirt as a guide and used chalk to draw a line. Next I shortened the sleeves. I simply rolled them up twice and sewed. I probably should have cut them off and hemmed them properly, but I was feeling lazy and it didn’t feel too bulky. It actually made a nice little cuff.

3-blue-polka-dot-dress-after-diy-refashion
After the refashion, muuuuuch better!

I also wanted to shorten the length of the dress a little bit. I pinned the bottom up and tried it on. I decided that it was a little too short for work and that I should lower the hem just a little. And then I must have had a stroke. Instead of lowering the hem line I raised it! And then like a complete idiot I didn’t try it on again before cutting. Perhaps I should have listened to the saying, “measure twice, cut once.” The real kicker here is that this is not the first time I have made this mistake. After I cut the bottom off I tried it on again and realized that it was now WAY too short for work. In my anger I ripped off the dress, shouted a bunch of swear words, terrified the cat, and ranted about my stupidity for the next 10 minutes. It was not pretty or dignified – not my greatest moment.

4-blue-polka-dot-dress-after-diy-refashion-funny
This photo sums up our photo shoot – not to self, Zach needs more coffee before operating a camera

After cooling off for a few days I came back to the dress. I hoped that I could sew the bottom of the dress back on and make it look okay. It look a few tries, but eventually I got the bottom attached with all the seams lined up. This fabric was difficult to work with because it wanted to get sucked into my sewing machine. It also pulled easily and created unseemly lines in the pattern.

5-blue-polka-dot-dress-before-and-after-diy-refashion
Before and after

This should have been a straight forward refashion, but I made it more difficult because sometimes I don’t think things through! The hemline at the bottom of the dress isn’t what I originally intended, but I think it ended up looking nice. What do you guys think of it?

6-blue-polka-dot-dress-diy-refashion-voting-day
I’m very proud of my “I voted” sticker

I finished this project about a week ago, but I waited until today to wear it. I thought the dress would be very fitting for Wisconsin’s presidential primary. With a red scarf I would look like an American flag. I love voting and I think it’s extremely important – it’s not just your right, it’s your duty. I would like to leave you with one of my favorite lines from The West Wing “No matter who you vote for, make sure you vote.”

 

 

8 thoughts on “Polka dot dress refashion

  1. Love!
    Omg, you made something awful….. Cute! Nice eye, awesome skills.
    Um…. Teach me.
    And doesn’t everyone operate a camera better after 11am?

    Like

    1. Thanks Colette! Your projects aren’t hack jobs, I love your blog. Its quite amusing – and I love how honest you are when a project does fail. I feel like I’ll probably do an “outtakes reel” every so often.

      Like

Leave a Reply

